Readers-

I continue to slowly recover from my car accident of six weeks ago. Just when I thought things were great, I tried to exercise today. Managed one lap in the pool until my lower back whispered loudly in my ear: “That’s enough.” So I water-walked for 15 minutes. I’m thinking of joining DO NOT LAUGH a water aerobics class.

I want to post some road trip photos of trips gone by. Below are image moments from one of my most favorite (I know, I say that all the time) from May of 2005. It was just me, the Subaru (RIP, Subi), the Yeti, and all the camping gear that would fit. I went to the less traveled places including Bishop’s Castle, CO; Westcliffe, CO; Mexican Hat, UT; Goosenecks State Park, UT; Mogi Dugway, UT, Owl Creek Pass near Ridgway, CO; and ended the trip with a solo epic bike ride up the northern section of Kenosha Pass. I didn’t make it to the top (almost passed out about a mile from the summit), but let’s remember: it’s not about the destination.

south-end-of-rainbow-trail-westcliffe1

Mountain stream near Westcliffe, CO

 

Mountain biking in May means random snow banks. Fun to ride through!

Mountain biking in May means random snow banks. Fun to ride through!

 

Bishop's Castle--a one-man, decades-long tribute to the working man

Bishop's Castle--a one-man, decades-long tribute to the working man

 

The Great Room, aptly named, inside Bishop's Castle

The Great Room, aptly named, inside Bishop's Castle

 

Beautiful stained glass inside the Castle

Beautiful stained glass inside the Castle

 

Constitutional Rights guaranteed at Bishop's Castle

Constitutional Rights guaranteed at Bishop's Castle

Park here for the castle

Park here for the castle

 

Not fairyland, just Bishop's Castle from the street

Not fairyland, just Bishop's Castle from the street

After galavanting around the Castle and biking around Westcliffe, I high-tailed it to the deserts of the extreme south corner of Utah.

Stay tuned for more pix.

SheSpoke

